Collaboration Platform FAQs

See also our 5-min video demonstrating key features of the platform.

These FAQs were written for our first pilot project, Sarcoma Central, but describe general features of the Collaboration Platform.

Who is able to join Sarcoma Central?
What is the purpose of my Personal Dashboard?
How do I post and share content from my Dashboard?
How do I know when new content is shared with me?
What are Groups and how do I join or create a Group?
What is the role of Group Moderators?
What is the difference between Open and Closed Groups?
What is the Cases Central database?

Who is able to join Sarcoma Central?

  • Research clinicians and professional healthcare providers.
  • When an individual registers, their credentials are validated by Admin and one or more current members.
  • However, if a current member invites a nonmember to view content or join a group, the invited individual will automatically gain entry when s/he registers.

What is the purpose of my Personal Dashboard?

  • Your Personal Dashboard is private — only you can see it.
  • From your Activity Feed, you can see listings of all content that has been shared with you individually or with groups you belong to, in a continuous scroll.
  • You can initiate or participate in discussions using the chat icon next to all content listings. All content listings include a byline that displays who posted it and who it’s been shared with.
  • You can bookmark content to your relevant tabs (folders) for easy reference.

How do I post and share content from my Dashboard?

  • You can post discussions, documents, slide decks, images, videos, links and references using the + (plus) links in your banner.
  • Content posted from your dashboard can be shared with any and all Sarcoma Central members and/or with groups you belong to (from dropdown lists).
  • It is important to note that all recipients of your shared content can share it with additional members and groups they belong to, using the share icon. See below for permissions when posting from open and closed groups.

How do I know when new content is shared with me?

  • By default, weekly digests are sent by email with links to new content shared with you and your groups.
  • Content posted from your Dashboard can be shared with any and all Sarcoma Central members and/or with groups you belong to (from dropdown lists).
  • If you prefer to receive alerts immediately after the content is shared, you can change this preference in your profile.
  • You can also opt out of all email alerts. However, you will still receive email invitations to join groups, and notifications concerning registration and editorial workflow when you submit a case report (see Cases Central below).

What are Groups and how do I join or create a Group?

  • Groups can be organized around labs, institutions, meetings, clinical trials, special topics (e.g., immunotherapy, specific therapeutics, subtypes), and tasks. All members of Sarcoma Central belong to Community Commons group.
  • Group Dashboards are similar to your personal dashboard. The Activity Feed lists all content shared with the group and there are tabs for bookmarking content. The left column shows the moderator and the list all members.
  • Join an existing Group from the All Groups page by clicking on its “join” button. If it’s an open group, you will instantly become a member. If it’s a closed group, your request will be sent to the moderator and you will be notified. Or, if you are invited to join by a group member, you will automatically be admitted when you accept the invitation.
  • Use the Create Group button on the All Groups page to start a group large or small. Provide a title and short description, and indicate whether it will be open or closed (see below). Use the dropdown list to select Sarcoma Central members to invite to join; you can also invite colleagues who are not yet members by providing their email addresses. You will be the moderator initially.

What is the role of Group Moderators?

  • Moderators can play a large or small role – taking the lead in facilitating discussion and posting content.
  • They can select co-Moderator(s) as soon as individuals join their group, and when there are at least two Moderators, they can remove themselves from that role.
  • In closed groups, only moderators can invite and confirm new members, and remove unruly members.

What is the difference between Open and Closed Groups?

  • Open Groups allow all Sarcoma Central members to view their dashboard. However, participation in discussions and posting content to an open group requires membership.
  • Any member in an open group can invite new members – from the list of validated Sarcoma Central members or individuals who haven’t yet registered for SC.
  • Requesting membership in an Open Group by clicking the “join button” automatically activates membership.
  • In Open Groups, when content is posted using the + (plus) links in the group’s dashboard banner, it is automatically shared with all members of the group. In addition, content can be shared with other individuals and groups, and recipients of the content are able to share further with their connections.
  • In Closed Groups, membership requests are sent to the moderator(s) for permission to join. Moderators receive notifications in their activity feed with links to accept or decline a request. They can view pending members at the top of the group’s member list.
  • The list of current members is closed to nonmembers (although the Moderators’ names are displayed on the All Groups page).
  • Only moderators can invite new members – from the list of validated Sarcoma Central members or individuals who haven’t yet registered for SC.
  • Content posted from the Closed Group Dashboard can only be shared and accessed by members of the group.

What is the Cases Central database?

  • Cases Central is intended solely for sharing anonymized patient data and organizes that data for easy searching, browsing and filtering.
  • As with other content, postings can be shared with Sarcoma Central members, nonmembers, and groups. Content posted here cannot be shared outside of Sarcoma Central.
  • Unlike standard case reports, members can share as little or as much information as deemed necessary for discussion or comparison of subtypes, outcomes, etc.
  • Data is submitted using a specially designed template (preferred), or using free text, or posting a pdf or other document.
  • Rapid Science editorial staff edits and standardizes all submissions, and returns the edited version to contributors before posting. There is a an editorial messaging box for authors and admin to exchange notes.
  • Contributors can use the Revise button that appears on the “live” case report to update it or make changes.
  • When a member searches the database, they will only see the cases that have been shared with them. We strongly suggest that cases be shared with all members via Community Commons.

Please contact support@rapidscience.org with questions or add your comments below.

Leave a Reply